Skip to content
Piston Fill
Comparison

Best Fountain Pen Gift Sets Under $50: Three Wordsworth & Black Boxes Compared

Three Wordsworth & Black boxed sets compared for gift-giving on what their Amazon listings and the brand's own pages state: which include an ink bottle, which add an extra fine nib, and which trade the bottle for two dozen cartridges and a leather box.

Ines CallowayUpdated Oct 17, 202610 min read

Best Fountain Pen Gift Sets Under $50: Three Wordsworth & Black Boxes Compared

If you're shopping for a boxed fountain pen gift, the three Wordsworth & Black sets below are the ones to compare: the black, brass-bodied Fountain Pen Gift Set when the recipient should get a bottle of ink and an extra fine nib; the Bamboo Wood set when you want those same contents in a wooden pen with a wooden case; and the Luxury set when they would rather have two dozen cartridges and a leather gift box than a bottle. All three come with an ink converter and a medium nib, and all three listings say the pen suits left- and right-handed writers. Prices move, so check the current price on Amazon for each set before deciding whether it fits the band in the title.

Updated October 2026.

We did not test this product ourselves; this review is built from the manufacturer's published specifications and Amazon's product listing.

From the shop

Browse the shop →

Original designs from this site, made to order.

A note on sources

Wordsworth & Black sells these sets on its own site as well as on Amazon, and the brand's product pages were read alongside each Amazon listing. The listings place two sets in the brand's Erudite Collection and the bamboo set in its Crest Collection, which is how each was matched to a brand page: the Erudite Fountain Pen Gift Set (with an ink bottle), the Crest Fountain Pen Gift Set, and the Erudite Fountain Pen Set (with 24 cartridges). The brand's pages describe the contents a little differently from the Amazon listings — most visibly the number of replacement nibs — and those differences are shown side by side below rather than resolved. The Amazon listing describes the package you would be ordering, so confirm the contents there.

What the three sets share

Each set includes an ink converter, per its listing, so the pen can be filled from a bottle as well as from cartridges — how to fill a fountain pen covers both routes. Each listing's title puts a medium nib on the pen. And each listing says the pen is built for left and right handed writers: the two Erudite listings use the phrase "perfect for both left and right handed writers", and the bamboo listing says "no strain to your wrist or hand, whether you are left or right handed".

Two more shared points come with a caveat. All three titles describe the nib as "18K German Iridium" (or "German Iridium 18K"); the bullets don't explain the phrase, and the brand's own pages for these sets don't use the words 18K, German or iridium at all, so treat it as the listing's wording rather than a specification. The two Erudite listings also carry the brand's satisfaction guarantee and the line "zero ink leakage and cap cover"; the bamboo listing's version is "no-spill technology", and it doesn't mention a guarantee, though the brand's Crest page does.

The three sets, one at a time

Wordsworth & Black Fountain Pen Gift Set (black, brass body)

Per the listing, the set includes a medium nib fountain pen, an extra fine replacement nib, an ink converter, 3 x blue ink cartridges, 3 x black ink cartridges and a 25ML ink bottle in a box, with a complete instruction booklet. The title gives the body as brass; the bullets describe a "beautifully balanced metallic design" from the brand's Erudite Collection.

Per the listing, the cartridges come in a plastic re-closable case. The listing's estimate that each cartridge "will last you at least 2 weeks of regular use" is the seller's. Per the listing the ink is made "using only natural dyes".

Wordsworth & Black's own page for the Erudite Fountain Pen Gift Set lists the contents as a fountain pen, ink bottle, ink converter, 3 blue and 3 black ink cartridges, 4 replacement nibs and a gift package, with instruction and calligraphy practice sheets booklets; it doesn't give the bottle size or a nib size, and its finishes include All Black, Black Gold and Black Chrome. Where the Amazon listing says one extra fine replacement nib, the brand's page says four — settle that on the listing before you order.

Check the current price of the Wordsworth & Black Fountain Pen Gift Set on Amazon

Wordsworth & Black Bamboo Wood Fountain Pen Set (brown)

Per the listing, the pen comes with an extra fine replacement nib, an ink converter, 3 x blue ink cartridges, 3 x black ink cartridges, a 25ML ink bottle and a wooden gift case; the pen itself has a medium nib. Per the listing the pen is handcrafted, with a bamboo wood body.

The nib wording on this listing is inconsistent: one bullet calls it a "solid brass nib", another a "German Iridium nib", and the title says "German Iridium 18K"; none of those three phrases appears on the brand's Crest page. Per the listing the case is wood: a "luxury Rose Wood carrying case" in one place and a "wooden deluxe wooden gift case" in another. Per the listing, it is "the ideal gift for graduation, Father's Day, or a promotion celebration", for "thanking a wedding party", or for "corporate events".

Wordsworth & Black's own Crest Fountain Pen Gift Set page describes a "beautifully balanced bamboo design" and lists the contents as a fountain pen, ink bottle, ink converter, 3 blue and 3 black ink cartridges, 4 replacement nibs and a gift package, with instruction and calligraphy practice sheets booklets. It offers the set in Brown Wood, Black Wood, Rosewood, Maple Wood, Cherry Wood and Violet Wood, and it doesn't give a nib size, a bottle size or a wooden case; the Amazon listing is the only source for those. The bamboo listing, in turn, doesn't mention a booklet.

Check the current price of the Wordsworth & Black Bamboo Wood Fountain Pen Set on Amazon

Wordsworth & Black Luxury Fountain Pen Set (black, 24 cartridges)

Per the listing, the set includes a medium nib fountain pen, an ink converter, 12 x blue ink cartridges, 12 x black ink cartridges and a leather gift box, with a complete instruction booklet. An ink bottle and a replacement nib do not appear on this listing, and that is the main difference from the other two. The title gives a brass body, calls the pen "Refillable, Leak-Free" and uses the same "18K German Iridium" wording; the bullets repeat the Erudite Collection's "metallic design" and "zero ink leakage and cap cover" lines and the satisfaction guarantee.

Wordsworth & Black's own Erudite Fountain Pen Set page lists the same ink supply — "12 x blue ink cartridges, 12 x black ink cartridges" — with a converter, but describes the packaging as a leather pen case plus a deluxe gift box, where the Amazon listing says a leather gift box. The brand's page offers the pen in Medium, Extra Fine, Fine, Broad and Bent nibs; the Amazon listing is the medium nib version.

Check the current price of the Wordsworth & Black Luxury Fountain Pen Set on Amazon

Side-by-side

Fountain Pen Gift SetBamboo Wood SetLuxury Fountain Pen Set
BodyBrass (listing title); "metallic design" (listing and brand page)Bamboo wood (listing); "bamboo design" (brand page)Brass (listing title); "metallic design" (listing and brand page)
Nib fittedMedium (listing)Medium (listing)Medium (listing); Extra Fine, Fine, Broad and Bent also offered on the brand page
Replacement nibs1 extra fine (listing); 4 (brand page)1 extra fine (listing); 4 (brand page)None on the listing; none on the brand page
Nib wording"18K German Iridium" (title)"German Iridium 18K" (title); "solid brass nib" and "German Iridium nib" (bullets)"18K German Iridium" (title)
ConverterYes (listing and brand page)Yes (listing and brand page)Yes (listing and brand page)
Cartridges3 blue + 3 black (listing and brand page)3 blue + 3 black (listing and brand page)12 blue + 12 black (listing and brand page)
Ink bottle25ML (listing); size not stated (brand page)25ML (listing); size not stated (brand page)None
Case or box"in a Box" (listing); gift package (brand page)Wooden gift case / Rose Wood carrying case (listing); gift package (brand page)Leather gift box (listing); leather pen case plus gift box (brand page)
BookletInstruction booklet (listing); instruction and calligraphy practice sheets (brand page)Not mentioned (listing); instruction and calligraphy practice sheets (brand page)Instruction booklet (listing and brand page)
Left and right handedYes (listing and brand page)Yes (listing and brand page)Yes (listing and brand page)
GuaranteeSatisfaction guarantee (listing and brand page)Not mentioned (listing); satisfaction guarantee (brand page)Satisfaction guarantee (listing and brand page)
Finish on AmazonBlackBrownBlack

Best for

If the recipient…Give
Wants to try bottled ink straight awayThe Fountain Pen Gift Set or the Bamboo Wood Set (25ML bottle plus converter, per their listings)
Prefers a wooden pen and a wooden caseThe Bamboo Wood Set
Would rather not deal with a bottle at allThe Luxury Fountain Pen Set (24 cartridges)
Might want a finer line than mediumThe Fountain Pen Gift Set or the Bamboo Wood Set (extra fine replacement nib)
Is getting a desk or office gift in a leather boxThe Luxury Fountain Pen Set
Writes left-handedAny of the three; all three listings say left and right handed

Which set to give

Give the Fountain Pen Gift Set when you don't know what they'll like. It has the most ink-filling options of the three, per its listing: per its listing, a medium nib fitted, an extra fine nib to swap in, 3 blue and 3 black cartridges to start with, and a 25ML bottle plus converter for when they're ready.

Give the Bamboo Wood Set when the pen is the present. The same contents as the brass set per its listing — bottle, converter, cartridges, extra fine nib — in a wooden pen with a wooden case.

Give the Luxury Fountain Pen Set to someone who will use it daily and never fill from a bottle. Two dozen cartridges and a converter in a leather gift box, per its listing, with no bottle in the set to worry about.

If a boxed set isn't the right shape of gift, our wider guide to fountain pen gifts in this band covers the band beyond sets, and the starter-kit roundup covers pen, ink and paper bundles.

Sources

  • Wordsworth & Black — product page "Erudite Fountain Pen Gift Set", accessed October 2026.
  • Wordsworth & Black — product page "Crest Fountain Pen Gift Set", accessed October 2026.
  • Wordsworth & Black — product page "Erudite Fountain Pen Set", accessed October 2026.
  • Amazon product listing for the Wordsworth & Black Fountain Pen Gift Set, Medium & Extra Fine Nib, Black (title, brand and feature bullets).
  • Amazon product listing for the Wordsworth & Black Bamboo Wood Fountain Pen Set, Medium, Extra Fine Nib (title, brand and feature bullets).
  • Amazon product listing for the Wordsworth & Black Luxury Fountain Pen Set for Writing, Medium Nib, Black (title, brand and feature bullets).

From the shop

Browse the shop →

Original designs from this site, made to order.

Where to buy

A plain-ink note: some links on this page are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we may earn a commission when you buy through them, and we also earn from other programs such as eBay Partner Network — at no extra cost to you. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes a verdict.

Reader questions

What are the best fountain pen gift sets under $50?

Three Wordsworth & Black sets, compared here on their listings: the Fountain Pen Gift Set (medium nib, extra fine replacement nib, converter, 6 cartridges and a 25ML bottle), the Bamboo Wood Set (the same contents in a wooden pen with a wooden case) and the Luxury Fountain Pen Set (medium nib, converter and 24 cartridges in a leather gift box), per their listings. Check the current price on Amazon for each.

Which Wordsworth & Black set includes an ink bottle?

The Fountain Pen Gift Set and the Bamboo Wood Set each list a 25ML ink bottle. The Luxury Fountain Pen Set's listing has no bottle; it comes with 24 cartridges instead.

Do these sets include a converter?

Yes. All three listings, and all three of the brand's own pages, list an ink converter.

How many replacement nibs come in the box?

The Amazon listings for the Fountain Pen Gift Set and the Bamboo Wood Set each say one extra fine replacement nib; Wordsworth & Black's own pages for those two sets say four. The Luxury Fountain Pen Set lists none on either source. Confirm on the listing you order from.

Which set is better for a left-handed recipient?

None stands apart: all three listings say the pen suits left and right handed writers, and none states a left-handed nib grind or a quick-drying ink.

The specimen press

Original nib & ink art, made to order.

Browse the shop →